Actress Geena Davis, Director David Lynch To Receive Honorary Oscars

Actress Geena Davis and director David Lynch are among four who will be recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences this year with honorary Oscars. Actor Wes Studi and director and screenwriter Lina Wertmüller will also be honored.

The special Oscars “are given by the Academy each year (to) recognize individuals who have devoted themselves to a lifetime of artistic accomplishment and brought outstanding contributions to our industry, and beyond,” Academy President John Bailey said in a statement.

Davis won a best supporting actress Oscar in 1988 for “The Accidental Tourist” and is best known for roles in late-80s and early-90s classics like “Thelma & Louise,” “A League of Their Own” and “Beetlejuice.” 

Lynch achieved a cult following with his first film, “Eraserhead,” in 1977. He received eight Oscar nominations for 1980’s “The Elephant Man,” which he directed. He also got Oscar nominations for directing “Blue Velvet” in 1986 and “Mulholland Drive” in 2001. 

The awards will be handed out at the Academy’s 11th Annual Governors Awards in October in Los Angeles.

Geena Davis, David Lynch, Lina Wertmüller and Wes Studi to receive honorary Oscars


Editorial credit: Andrea Raffin /